[Review] Rei Ayanami x Figure

28 04 2008

REI AYANAMI from Yamato (Creator’s Labo)

Yamato’s Creators’ Labo brings Rei Ayanami to the hobby scene in 1/7 scale PVC form. This figure is based on the design of Shunya Yamashita’s rendition of the popular anime character, and from the sculpting prowess by Yoshizawa Mitsumasa.

However, this PVC version lacks some of the features of Yoshizawa Mitsumasa’s original resin figure – namely, cast-off functionality and bandages around the head. The bandages adds slight dynamic flair to the figure, and it’s a shame it was left out during the transition to PVC.

I’m gonna put my hands up and admit that I’ve only watched a couple of episodes Neon Genesis Evangelion, and have not went back to it since. However, I do intend to try and watch the series as I’ve heard great things about it – apart from a messed up ending, apparently!

Anyway, More photos of Rei Ayanami can be viewed by clicking the link.

Rei Ayanami Gallery

I really like this shot. There’s almost a hint of a smile on Rei’s face that isn’t suggested in any other pictures, or the figure itself. However, this shot also highlights the crappy paintwork.

Some ‘off the wall’ shots follow:

The pose is seductive, with a face equally as alluring. This is a stellar figure (sculpt-wise) – simple, yet striking. In my opinion, this is definitely one of the best translation of Shunya Yamashita’s design, and may even surpass the original art.

However, all is not perfect. The paintwork is, without a doubt, very poor. In fact, I returned one I bought from a hobby store because of a noticeable blotch of thick paint on her thigh. I hope Yamato improve the quality of future figures because they’ve got quite a bad reputation within the community at the moment.

Anyway, I’d like to leave my comment in a positive note so, I’d like to highlight the fantastic job Yamato did with painting the face – practically flawless. Oh, and there’s a postcard hidden in the box packaging featuring another of Shunya’s rendition of Rei- nice!


Actions

Information

4 responses

5 05 2008
gordon

yes indeed yamato is known for it’s sloppy paint work. i was very disappointed with my 1/6 Poison from the Capcom Girls series. the paint was just terrible i thought i bought a bootleg. >.<

10 05 2008
samanosuke

Yamato just don’t do REFLECT’s work any justice!

7 08 2008
suneo

hmmm….become iffy about purchasing Yamato figures now…:\
Don’t have any, but all I hear are crappy paint jobs… How can Mitumasa agree to such shoddy work!! He should hand over his design to somebody like Goodsmile/Alter/Maxfactory lol.

Sounds kinda risky buying her online too after hearing you returned one:\ Then again even if I buy from a store, I’ve only seen it at one store (don’t know many physical toy stores that sell anime figures around me), and I think she may be the only one there as well…

9 08 2013
Encinomom.com

of course like your website however you need to take a look at
the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find
it very troublesome to inform the truth nevertheless I will definitely come again again.

Leave a Reply

