DIY Photo Studio x Photo Shoots

28 04 2008

If you’ve read my About page, then you’d know I originally built a DIY photography studio to take pictures of items I was intending to sell on eBay.

I was quite impressed with the quality of the photographs (no prior experience, didn’t care about lighting conditions etc.) and so decided to take pictures of my figure collection – probably subconsciously inspired by photo blogs such as Danny Choo and Heisei Democracy.

Follow the tutorial yourself here if you would like to make your own.

Click the link to view the rest of the post.

Here are pictures of the budget DIY photography studio:

Probably as low-budget and simple as it can get!

It does exactly what it says on the tin! Seriously, I didn’t think such a cheap DIY project would produce such drastically different results, but it has. Total cost to build is less than my lunch money.

(Note: the above pictures were all taken without the care for proper lighting)

I wouldn’t compare my pictures up there with the best, but this was definitely worth the effort. All you need is a box, tracing paper for the windows, scissors to cut the windows, paper (or other material) for the background, and adhesive tape to hold it all together.

Have I forgotten something? Oh yes, lights. Indeed, I now know the key to good photography is lighting (not that I’ve mastered it). However, you do not necessarily have to purchase any additional equipment (unless you want to) as I can confirm that ALL my pictures were taken using 100% natural light – the Sun.

I don’t have any lighting equipment, not even a desk lamp, so had to make do with what was there. You could say it is the ultimate cheap-man’s photography studio! I know some people use a mirror to reflect light to highlight key areas of the subject, but once again, the cheapo prevails! I just use a white A4 piece of card to reflect the light.

You can see from this shot how nice the lighting works within the box – go outside and it’s even better. (You can also see the card I use to reflect light).

I don’t have an SLR camera, and just make do with my Sony DSC-T9 Cyber Shot.

Alternative

I stumbled across a site called Happy Soda’s recently, and was amazed by the quality of the pictures and backdrops. A tutorial is available on the website (link here).

The method is different, and possibly aimed at advance users as you have to set up the lighting, but if you can master it, you’d be a photography guru (remember, lighting is the key to good photography). It also benefits larger figures because you are not limited to the size of the box. Also, it’s probably much easier to set up backgrounds (which can also be more extravagant) as you don’t have limited space or flaps in the way.

But don’t dismiss the box just yet! The box is great for extra convenience (disregarding the storage space needed!) since you wouldn’t have to set up shop every time you want to take pictures. It’s possible to get good results with only a single source of light.

It’s portable as well! Although I think if you were out with your figures, you’d rather them bathed in the scenery…

I hope this post helps people who are thinking about take the first step into photography!


Actions

Information

22 responses

5 05 2008
gordon

please ignore my previous comment in another post asking what camera u are using. now i know.

anyway i don’t have a setup and lamps for indoor shoot so i take pics of my figures outdoor. i love the sun, it provide the best lightning and best of all it’s free! ^^;

10 05 2008
samanosuke

Too late – I just replied! However, I’ve now got a new camera, so I’m expecting my pictures to improve 10 fold! (wishful thinking?)

Indeed, your outdoor pictures are really good! I think natural sunlight really does produce the best results. I would attempt to do outdoor shoots too but I’m too lazy to travel!

11 05 2008
gordon

dude, u don’t need to travel. the neighbourhood park or any roof top, balcony will do nicely.

15 07 2008
minicake

your snaps are really amazing and thanks for letting us in on all the secrets as to why! lol. you make it seem so easy peasy that even i, extremely lazy piggy, am swayed to give it a try myself. tehe ^^

15 07 2008
samanosuke

mini you donut! =p

21 06 2013
Nusuno Karya

What i do not understood is actually how you
are not really a lot more neatly-preferred than you might be right now.
You are very intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably in
terms of this topic, produced me in my opinion imagine it from
so many various angles. Its like women and men are not involved unless it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. At all times maintain it up!

29 08 2013
photography studio strobe lighting kit

Wonderful website. Lots of useful information here.
I’m sending it to a few friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you in your effort!

29 08 2013
home video studio lighting setup

Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this web page daily, this site is in fact pleasant and the people are genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

29 09 2013
gta 5 download ps3

Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you
provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old
rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked
your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my
Google account.

17 10 2013
vakantie in ardennen

Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about
this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home
a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

17 10 2013
naklejki podlogowe lubin

Having read this I believed it was very informative.
I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this content together.
I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.
But so what, it was still worthwhile!

18 10 2013
webpage

My brother recommended I might like this web site.
He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. Yoou cann’t imagine just how much
time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

12 01 2014
www.pusha.se

I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.
I really hope to see the same high-grade content by you later on as well.
In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged
me to get my own website now😉

21 02 2014
odwiedź

Excellent, what a weblog it is! This blog gives helpful facts to us,
keep it up.

27 07 2014
free cscs test revision notes

Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos

3 08 2014
digitalocean vps

digitalocean vps

DIY Photo Studio x Photo Shoots | Welcome, take a cloud.

2 02 2015
Divergente streaming vf

What’s up mates, its wonderful post about educationand fully explained,
keep it up all the time.

10 02 2015
tinnitus miracle book

tinnitus miracle book

DIY Photo Studio x Photo Shoots | Welcome, take a cloud.

12 02 2015
Management Coaching

My partner and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might
check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

17 02 2015
so simple! music

Aw, this was a really good post. Taking a few minutes
and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I
hesitate a whole lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.

25 02 2015
writing styles

writing styles

DIY Photo Studio x Photo Shoots | Welcome, take a cloud.

20 03 2015
Robert Duggan

Robert Duggan

DIY Photo Studio x Photo Shoots | Welcome, take a cloud.

Leave a Reply

